A Decade of Life Celebration

Monday, March 14, 2016

When I got home from work, Brandon was outside watering all the plants and trees that we’ve planted. Brandon had stopped at the store to get a long grocery list of items I sent with him.

20160314_193500.jpg

I immediately started baking some goodies for Deegan’s birthday party. I normally take the Friday off before my kids’ parties but I’m saving my vacation days for an awesome vacation this coming summer. So, I have to get things done throughout the week in order to have everything ready by Saturday.

I wanted to make some cookies that I have no idea what they are called but my friend informed me that they are called haystacks. You use butter, vanilla, sugar, oats, cocoa, and peanut butter on the stove. They are my dad’s favorite cookie.

20160314_202246.jpg

I also made the Ritzy cookies. They are made of Ritz crackers, peanut butter, and melted vanilla.

I finished off the night by making a cookie cake (Deegan’s favorite). All the while I was making all this stuff, I did manage to make dinner as well. It was a super busy, but productive, night.

Brandon put some chicken eggs in the incubator tonight. We will check them in 5 days to see if anything is happening.

Tuesday, March 15, 2016

When Brandon got home from work, he finished hanging beadboard on the fireplace wall.

20160316_215708.jpg

While he was doing that, it was back to baking for me. Tonight, I baked some brownies and white cake.

Wednesday, March 16, 2016

Today, I weighed in at Weight Watchers. I did not do well with my diet from Thursday to Sunday. I didn’t track anything. Monday, I started tracking again. I knew I had gained from those days that I didn’t track. It really works IF you track! So, I’ve lost 2.2 lbs since last Wednesday’s weigh in. I’ll take that! So far, I’ve lost a total 9.2 lbs.

Tonight when I got home, I made buttercream frosting and fondant and decorated Deegan’s birthday cake. I’m always anxious until I get the cake done. So, I feel a little at ease now that that is done. I still have the fireplace wall to finish and then decorate for his theme.

Thursday, March 17, 2016

When I got home, it was a-painting-that-I-went. We want the beadboard to stand out, so I didn’t paint it yellow. I want to make it look like it’s been there forever. So, I decided to make it look like whitewash to begin with. I don’t like it so I’m going to try a different technique.

20160317_205805.jpg

Friday, March 18, 2016

Happy 10th Birthday Deegan!

This morning was quite eventful for me. When I left the house this morning, I realized I had about 57 miles left until empty. I forgot to get gas yesterday and I normally refill my gas when I have about 115 miles left. I was hoping once I got on the road that it would show more miles left, but that didn’t happen. First of all, I don’t like stopping in Camilla that early in the morning. It’s kind of sketchy! So, the next place to stop would be Sylvester. Well, Sylvester’s gas is always about 20 cents higher than Tifton so I don’t like stopping there. I had about 17 miles left when I got to Sylvester. I thought I could possibly make it to Tifton on that. Well, I hadn’t even made it to Ty Ty and I have miles left to go when I look down and I’m at 0 miles left!!! My heart is racing and I’m just praying that I’ll make it to Ty Ty. There’s two speed drops going into Ty Ty and I didn’t drop my speed in case my car died. I wanted to be able to have momentum built up to make it to the gas station. Well, there are two gas stations in Ty Ty and I pass up the first one because the one past that had a digital sign and a lower price on gas. So, when I pull up and turn off my car, I noticed that the lights were out at the pumps. Yup, they weren’t open!!! I’m freaking out at this point. Will my car start again? Will I make it back to the gas station that I passed up? Yes, my car did start and, yes, I did make it to the other gas station. I went ahead and filled all the way up even though I knew gas was cheaper in Tifton. I ended up putting almost 21 gallons in my car. The most I’ve ever put in it was about 19 gallons. I’d say I didn’t have much left to get me anywhere. I’m just glad that I made it to a gas station and not on the side of the road with two kids.

My mom came up from Valdosta today. She met up with me at Deegan’s school so that we could eat lunch with him.

20160318_123209.jpg

He was able to invite one of his friends to eat with him.

20160318_124659.jpg

Nana had to get her picture made with him.

20160318_124231.jpg

When I got home from work, I painted the beadboard white again. Then, I stenciled in yellow paint along the two side trim pieces. I didn’t really want the stencil to show up too much. I wanted it to look old school.

20160318_191301.jpg

So, after I stenciled, I got some medium walnut stain out and stained the two pieces to see if I liked the look of it.

20160318_194945.jpg

20160318_192333_001.jpg

At that point, I went for it.

20160318_194849_001.jpg

I absolutely love it and think it looks like it’s been there forever. We are not done with the wall though. We will be adding some shelves to it to give it a more built-in look.

20160319_125822.jpg

20160319_125828.jpg

I have been wanting to hang some cheese graters upside down by the kitchen sink so I could put some ivy in them and towels. I finally got Brandon to hang them for me and I love it!

20160318_213920.jpg

20160318_213929.jpg

Saturday, March 19, 2016

I didn’t sleep well last night and woke up almost sick to my stomach. Today is Deegan’s birthday party and I haven’t even decorated yet. So, yes, that stresses me out! I woke up about 7am and started laundry and then headed to the kitchen to start cleaning and decorating.

20160319_125736.jpg

20160319_125853.jpg

20160319_125903.jpg

Everyone showed up around 1pm and we got the party started by eating some delicious food.

20160319_125717.jpg

20160319_125721.jpg

Then, we had some goodies!

20160319_125730.jpg

20160319_125739.jpg

20160319_125808.jpg

20160319_125748.jpg

20160319_135933.jpg

20160319_140000.jpg

He opened presents afterwards and loved them all!

After everyone left, I started cleaning up and taking all the decorations down. I was ready for a nap so I laid down, but that didn’t go anywhere. So, I went outside to check on Brandon. I noticed that our potatoes and green beans are coming in. Yay!

20160319_193442.jpg

20160319_193458.jpg

This pretty flower is all by itself by our front field. Spring is here!

20160319_194001.jpg

I went back inside and started tracing some door hangers that I need to cut out and paint.

Before we went to bed, we went to check on the eggs in the incubator. I asked Brandon what we were looking for and he said a spot and then veins coming out of it. Well, about the third egg in, we see it. To me, it looks like a spider inside the egg. So, we had about 8 or more eggs that had that. Maybe we will have some baby chicks in about 2 weeks.

Sunday, March 20, 2016

The kids went outside when they woke up. They came running back inside and said that “dad had caught a cat in his trap”. So, I peeked out of the back door and noticed a cat in a trap in the backyard. Brandon told them to let it out. Well, the cat ended up hanging around us all day. Brandon said it was a girl and she just had kittens. (Not sure where the kittens are.) She looked skinny so Brandon fed her a hot dog.

He started messing around on the tractor and I got to use my new jigsaw to cut out the door hangers. I painted just about half of the day. I get so in the zone when I do that kind of stuff. I got 6 door hangers painted.

20160320_202116.jpg

The kids have been wanting a cat and asked if we could keep it. I told them we will just wait and see and see if it hangs around.

Monday, March 19, 2016

When we were leaving the house this morning, the cat was still outside. So, I guess I’ll be buying some cat food today. It’s a fluffy calico. Very cute!

When we got home, the kids were searching for the cat. I told Deegan to let me know if they found her. About 10 minutes later, he comes running inside and said “we found her!” So, I got two bowls out and put cat food in one and water in the other and stuck it on the back porch. She ran up to it and started eating for the longest time. She must have been really hungry. So, I guess now we have a pet cat. Right now, we are at 18 chickens, 2 ducks, and 1 cat. We are still trying to determine a name for her. Deegan wants to name her Melissa. I told him, no. Melissa is not a cat name. LOL

20160321_175103.jpg

I painted two more door hangers tonight then called it a night.

2 thoughts on “A Decade of Life Celebration”

  1. Ahh, let Deegan name it Melissa! My sister has a cat that my five-year old niece named Susan. It’s kind of a funny cat…it’s cross-eyed and clumsy! Maybe it will keep rats and snakes away 😉 I like the beadboard around the fireplace. It makes it look more old-timey. Oh and by the way, I don’t think it’s fair that you have all those sweets, and never shared one cookie with me! Just sayin’….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

