Last of the Farmhouse Treasures

Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Nothing to report for today.

Wednesday, February 17, 2016

Today is the second day after starting the gym. It seems to always be the most sore day when starting the gym back. I am super sore and am moving very slow.

Brandon stopped and bought some posts for the fence on his way home. When he got home, he finished doing the front fence on the right up front.

When I got home with the kids, I started dinner. While I was making dinner, I sat with Dawson and read her book from school with her. When Brandon got done outside and came inside, he sat with Dawson and drew a picture for her based on the story from the book. She picked out the colors and told him what to draw.

20160218_191031.jpg

Thursday, February 18, 2016

I wasn’t feeling well and progressively got worse as the day went on. My head was pounding so bad I was about in tears. I ended up leaving work early.

When I got home, I took some medicine and laid down. When Brandon got home, he starting working on the fence to the left side of our house where the easement used to be. It took him about an hour to put one post in. When he came inside, I made some dinner and took some PM medicine. We ate in the living room and watched the movie Pixels. I tried so hard to stay up for the whole movie but I ended up falling asleep probably halfway through it.

Friday, February 19, 2016

When I got off of work, I went and got the kids and headed to Valdosta. Brandon and I want to do a date night tonight and mom and dad said they would watch the kids. When Brandon and I went to leave, I was standing by his truck and he was right behind me which shocked me because he was going to open the door for me…….so I thought. Weeks ago, I watched a man open the door for a woman and told him, “Someone used to do that for me….LOL”. So, he opens the door and the seat and floorboard are full of seed potatoes that he just purchased. LOL He had to move them out of the way. So, we headed to town and we decided that we wanted to eat at Cheddar’s before going to the movie. It was about 5pm so it wasn’t so packed and we got great service. After we were done, Brandon walked me to my side of the truck and opened the door for me. How sweet! Then, we went shopping at Gander Mountain to waste some time before the movie started. Brandon did not open the door for me when leaving Gander Mountain. 😦 We went to see Dead Pool and as we were waiting on the movie to start, we saw a woman walk in with two small children that looked to be about 3 and 4 years old. Brandon quickly said that based on things he had read on the movie that this was NOT a movie for small children. Shortly after that, another woman walks in with three boys that looked to be about 10 to 12 years old. Brandon just shook his head. Well, throughout the whole movie there is really bad language, some nudity and some other stuff that is just NOT appropriate for children. Not once, did those people get up and leave. I just could NOT believe it. The movie is definitely an adult movie. I wasn’t looking forward to watching it based off of the preview I had seen, but I have to say….I really enjoyed it……although it could have done without all the things I just said about it though. If you go see it, you need to stay through the credits….there is something at the very end to see. When we went to the truck, Brandon opened the door for me! Overall, this was a very good date night. We had a great time!

Guys, I have to just say this…….women LOVE when you do small gestures such as opening the car door for her or touching the small of her back or kissing her forehead. It really doesn’t take much to make us happy. These small gestures show us that you really care for us and it makes us feel special. Never hesitate to make your woman feel special!

We spent the night at my parent’s so that mom and I could yard sale in the morning.

Saturday, February 20, 2016

Mom and I did okay to start with but it got much better near the end of yard saling. Today was a day of miniature stuff for me (and my house).

This is a bunch of crocks that I got for $8.

20160220_173725.jpg

Some miniature baskets and miniature cheese grater that I got for decoration for my house. Some lady asked me when I was buying the tiny baskets what I was planning on doing with them……if ya’ll know how sarcastic I am….I so badly wanted to answer her, “Go pick berries with them”. But, I just let it go.

20160220_173731.jpg

When we were done, we headed to the farm to try and finish getting some things. We got some stepping stones from the property and then we got some louvered windows from the farmhouse.

20160220_134711.jpg

We plan to use them for our greenhouse.

Then, Brandon and I went into the kitchen and noticed some old spice tins. He climbed up on the cabinet and noticed something on the top shelf. He sounded excited and when he showed me what it was….I was excited….it was an egg scale.

Before

20160220_173019.jpg

After

20160220_203205.jpg

Before

20160220_172929.jpg

After

20160220_195912.jpg

Sunday, February 21, 2016

When we woke up, Brandon went outside to work on putting up the fence along the left side of the house where the easement used to be. I stayed inside and continued deep cleaning the house while doing laundry and dishes.

I decided I wanted a change in the bedding on our bed. This is not what I want for the long run but it will do for now.

20160221_100426.jpg

20160221_100458.jpg

20160221_100539.jpg

I added a pitcher I had retrieved from the farmhouse on our end table and put an arrangement in it.

20160222_190650.jpg

I added the old spice tins to my Lazy Susans.

20160222_190723.jpg

20160222_190817.jpg

Then, I headed upstairs to work on the kids’ playroom. It looks horrible….like a bomb went off in there. We had gotten a dresser from the trailer at the farm so I used it for storage in there. It took me about 4 hours to go through the room.

Before

20160221_144647.jpg

After

20160221_175743.jpg

Before

20160221_144654.jpg

After

20160221_175752.jpg

20160221_175816.jpg

I hung up my Easter door hanger.

20160221_163346.jpg

This is a hard picture to really see the difference but this is the fence.

Before

20160221_131831.jpg

After

20160221_182458.jpg

This is the chicken coop area where he finished putting the boards going along the top.

20160221_131903.jpg

Leave a Reply

