What lies underneath

Monday, November 2, 2015

At work, we had a meeting about Open Enrollment for Benefits. I have been meaning to make Deegan an orthodontist consultation appointment to see if he needs them right now but I haven’t yet done that. We have until next week to enroll so I’ve got to set up an appointment soon.

On our way home, Dawson said “Raise your hand if you can rhyme with the word…….” and then she would say a word. Then, I would see Deegan raise his hand and Dawson would say “Uummmm, Deedone (Deegan – she can’t pronounce his name just yet)”. Deegan would give an answer and then Dawson would say “Yes, go wash your hands.” As if, “go wash your hands” was a prize for getting it right. Not really sure where that came from, but they did this pretty much all the way home and I was just laughing the whole way. It was so cute! I guess they were practicing rhyming words at her school today.

Tuesday, November 3, 2015

I called Fender-Goggans Orthodontics and talked to them about Deegan. They had an appointment time available for today so I went to Deegan’s school and checked him out early. He was excited that he got to leave early but had no idea where we were about to go. I told him that we were going to see if he needed braces and he wasn’t happy. So, I started telling him all the cool things that the orthodontist office does hoping to entice him.

We got there and Deegan started playing video games in one of their waiting rooms they have. I think that is so cool that they have that for the kids. Everyone there was so friendly. We didn’t have to wait long. The first thing they did was to take X-rays of his teeth.

20151103_141534[1]

20151103_141704[1]

20151103_141716[1]

Next, she took pictures of his teeth. Then, we were brought into the consultation room. Dr. Guess was called in to go over his pictures and what braces would do for him. Next, we went over the price. It made sense to just go ahead and pay out of pocket for this phase of braces because on the dental plan I have, it only covers $1000 in a lifetime. I’d rather wait and use the insurance when he gets a full set of braces on his teeth.

Deegan was not happy at all. He, nor I, had any idea that he would be getting braces today. He was about in tears. He said he liked his teeth and he wanted me to save my money. But, I know he will thank me later in his high school years. LOL They told him how they have a Hummer and they come pick up the kids from school to bring them to the appointment and if they miss lunch, they buy lunch for them. They gave him a card with points on it and told him that he can do certain things to get points and then redeem the points for prizes. That made him a little happy.

So, while I did the paperwork, they took him back and started on him. I asked if I paid it in full up front if they gave a discount and they said they did. So, $2281 later, his braces are paid for and that is exciting!

When I was done, I went and sat with him while they put his braces on.

20151103_150448[1]

In no time at all, they had all the metal brackets on his upper teeth.

20151103_152433[1]

It took maybe about 30 minutes from start to finish. He seemed happy after he got them.

20151103_152956[1]

Here’s Deegan with Dr. Guess and Monique (the one who put the braces on him).

20151103_153948[1]

Brandon had come up to Tifton after he got off of work. We intended to get a huge spool from someone but when we went to get it, Brandon said that it would be too heavy to put in his truck bed. So, unfortunately, we didn’t get it.

While I went and picked Dawson up for dance, Brandon took Deegan and went grocery shopping. They got done a little bit before Dawson’s dance class got out so he headed home before me.

On the way home, it gets really dark fast since the time change. I hate driving when it’s dark. I don’t mean just dark, it’s pitch black. Well, I came up over a little hill and I thought I saw tall grass off to the right side of the road but when I got close to it, I noticed it was a deer. We both have deer whistles on our car since there is high activity of deer on the roads we travel. I veered around it only to see another deer on the other side of the road. It’s hard not to freak out in a moment like this. But, I just prayed that both of them stayed where they were, and they did. Thank goodness! After occurrences like that, I tend to drive a lot slower.

When we got home, Dawson couldn’t wait to see Deegan’s “bracelets”, as she calls them. 🙂 I get the feeling that Deegan is okay with having braces. I asked him if it was as bad as he thought and he said no. I think it made him happy because he got all kinds of green items from the orthodontist and green is his favorite color.

Wednesday, November 4, 2015

Today is my dad’s birthday! Happy birthday dad!!

On the way to Tifton this morning, Dawson and Deegan were watching “Frozen” in the car. Dawson loves watching it so she can sing along with the songs. When the movie is over, she likes to listen to the song running over the credits and then after the credits they play the song again with a different lady singing it. Then, guess what? They play it AGAIN but a Spanish version. Well, Deegan said “Dawson, you can’t speak Spanish.” My little 4 year old girl, Dawson, says, “Yes, I can speak Spanish, Deedone (Deegan).” Then she says, “Libre soy” which is “Let it go”. I was dying laughing. It’s hilarious to hear those two kids in the back while I’m driving.

Thursday, November 5, 2015

When I got home, I went to the front porch to see if there was mail by the front door and noticed some sitting on a chair on the front porch. I have been anxiously awaiting my shutterfly book that I made about our first home. It was there….waiting on me. Here is the link if you are interested to see what all we did to Our First Home. We lived there 10 years and boy, what a transformation! That’s what makes me so excited about this house. There is so much that can be done with it and the property. I’m sure the next shutterfly book I do about this new home will have to be made into volumes…..because they are not cheap!

Friday, November 6, 2015

I woke up in the middle of night not feeling so swell. I waited for Brandon to get up to ask him to bring me some peppermint oil. I felt very nauseous and didn’t want to move for fear of throwing up everywhere. He brought the peppermint oil to me and that helped right away. I was able to go back to sleep for a little bit before it was time to wake up and get going for the day. I dropped both kids off at school and then it hit me again. There was no way I was going to work today. I was able to go to the in-laws’ house and stay during the day while I waited for the kids to get out of school. I felt a little better by that time. We went to Valdosta so that I could spend the night with mom and go yard saling with her the next day.

Saturday, November 7, 2015

Mom and I tried hitting every yard sale but there was no possible way to do that. There were so many of them. We racked up pretty quickly, even had to stop at the ATM and get more money out to keep going. We had the back of her car packed down. When we were done, we headed to Thomasville to the farm to get some more items. We got a cast iron sink out of my Great Grandfathers house and a dresser. They both need lots of cleaning. Once we got home and got everything unpacked from our vehicles, Brandon pressure washed the trailer.

Before

20151107_165917[1]

After

20151107_171443[1]

Before

20151107_165925[1]

After

20151107_171505[1]

Before

20151107_165937[1]

After

20151107_171523[1]

Before

20151107_165952[1]

After

20151107_171533[1]

When we got done doing that, there wasn’t any daylight left to do anything outside.

Sunday, November 8, 2015

It started raining pretty good last night and it was not letting up today. So, we were stuck inside. After we had a big breakfast, I wanted to feed the scraps to the chickens. I hadn’t been out there in forever to visit with them. Brandon is the one who goes out there everyday. So, I go out there to open their coop and let them out in the pen area. I stand in the corner and throw food in different places and watch them run around getting it then stealing it from each other. The younger ones were still inside the coop so I started throwing food inside the coop. But, the young ones would get the food but then the older ones would come steal it from them. So, I stepped inside the coop to give some to the young chickens who were now all the way back in the far corner and out of no where I felt pain on my leg….over and over again. The rooster had started attacking me once I was inside the coop. I guess he saw me as a threat to his hens and repeatedly was kicking me and biting me. I screamed bloody murder for Brandon who was inside the house all the while trying to get the rooster off of me. My shoes fell off during this process but I finally got out of the coop and the pen. I went inside to tell Brandon (who was clueless as to what just happened to me). I pulled up my pant legs and I was red all over my legs from where the rooster was hitting and biting me. I guess I need to go out there more often so he doesn’t attack me. It did not feel good!

After that whole situation, I started cleaning the dresser that I got from the farmhouse. Layers of dust on the outside and you don’t want to know what all was in the drawers.

Before

20151108_110352[1]

After

20151108_122329[1]

Before

20151108_110339_001[1]

After

20151108_122414[1]

20151108_122346[1]

I tagged items for the booth the rest of the day. We had hopes of clearing out some woods so we can build a well house but due to the weather we weren’t able to do that this past weekend. Hopefully, this weekend we will be able to get to it.

Leave a Reply

