Making progress…

IMAG6253[1]

This is my view each morning when I’m driving into Tifton. Absolutely gorgeous!

Thursday, September 10, 2015

Not much progress on the roof.

Friday, September 11, 2015

Today, I was able to purchase the fixtures for the claw foot tub and vessel sink for the downstairs hall bathroom. We are going with bronze fixtures and fixtures with the cross handles. I think it’s really going to give it the vintage feel.

IMAG6254[1]

IMAG6255[1]

After work, I picked up the kids and headed to Valdosta, GA. I was spending the night with my parents so that mom and I could go yard saling together on Saturday. I talked Brandon into staying in Valdosta long enough to meet us at Texas Roadhouse for some dinner. After dinner, Brandon, the kids, and I went to Lowe’s to look at tile. We still are undecided about the tile for the laundry room. I had found some travertine tile at Lowe’s in Tifton but it was almost $8 a tile. The Lowe’s in Valdosta had some travertine tile on sale for a little over $4 a tile. So, we bought enough tile for the laundry room. While we were there, we looked at the in stock cabinets that they had. I noticed that they had a sale going on until Monday. If you bought $400 or more then you would get 20% off. We needed to get some cabinets for the laundry room as well. So, we took some brochures home so that we could decide what size cabinets we would need.

Saturday, September 12. 2015

Mom and I were up bright and early ready for yard sales. When I went outside, it was drizzling. But, rain was not going to stop us today. Mom has been stuck in the house for 5 weeks now because of her ankle injury. I hadn’t been to yard sales since I moved. We both were so ready for today. The first yard sale we hit up we did really good. The second one we did really good at too. We were hoping that the rain would eventually stop, but it ended up picking up throughout the morning. The best deal that I got was a small oil lamp for 10 cents.

IMAG6284[1]Mom and I were out and about until about lunch time then it was time for me to head to Moultrie to pick up some Railroad crossing signs that I had been waiting for the opportunity to get. I need these signs for Deegan’s room. His room is going to look so good once I can get in there and decorate.

IMAG6304[1]

Once I got the Railroad crossing signs, I headed to Albany to meet up with my bestie, Kristi. We were having a girls’ day. We shopped in Albany for a bit, then we headed to her mom’s house to meet our men. Brandon and I had purchased some curio cabinets from her mom so we were picking them up. While we were there, we were given an old metal coke carrier, some terracotta pumpkins and some other items. I was super excited and grateful! 🙂

Sunday, September 13, 2015

Today, I spent the day doing laundry and painting the laundry room.

Before

IMAG6295[1]

After (I was waiting to paint the window trim until after they installed new windows)

IMAG6325[1]

Before

IMAG6296[1]

After

IMAG6301[1]

Before

IMAG6297[1]

After

IMAG6302[1]

Before

IMAG6298[1]

After

IMAG6303[1]

Before

IMAG6299[1]

After

IMAG6305[1]

Brandon worked on installing a new front door and screen door.

Before

IMAG5072[1]

After

IMAG6307[1]

I wanted him to add something that I bought from Southern Living at Home when my mom sold it. In the magazine, it showed a metal wall decor used as a kick plate on the front door. I loved the idea and bought it to use one day. I also had him add some trim under the window on the door to give it more of a craftsman style feel.

Before

IMAG6320[1]

After (I just need to paint it now.)

IMAG6321[1]

Then, he added the screen door

IMAG6323[1]

Before

IMAG4982[1]

After (I’ve got to paint the door and Brandon needs to add some trim above it.)

IMAG6326[1]

He also installed trim around the back door. I need to paint it.

IMAG6327[1]

Monday, September 14, 2015

I left today to head to Augusta, GA for a week’s worth of training for my job at ABAC. Brandon’s parents are going to help out with the kids this week. So, I’m hoping that Brandon can get some things done around the house without anyone there to bug him. Since today was the last day for the sale on in stock cabinets at Lowe’s, Brandon went after work and bought some. When he got home, he took them out of the packaging and set them in the laundry room so he could show me.

IMAG0784[1]

IMAG0783[1]

The HVAC guys started today. We left them a key but they couldn’t figure out how to get it so they worked on what they could outside.

Tuesday, September 15, 2015

I went to Home Depot and bought some hardware for the cabinets.

IMAG6382[1]

Brandon purchased some wood that we could make counter tops out of in the laundry room.

The HVAC guys made progress today. They should be done tomorrow.

Wednesday, September 16, 2015

Brandon texted me when he got home and told me that the HVAC guy had lost his balance in the attic and put his foot through our ceiling. He patched it up for the night but was coming back tomorrow to try and fix it better.

IMAG0786[1]

Here is the new HVAC unit for the upstairs. They had to run the lines on the outside of the house. They will be covering it up with vinyl siding when they are through.

IMAG0787[1]

The window guys from Window World are coming tomorrow to remove and replace the exterior windows so Brandon spent the night taking down all the blinds and removing everything away from all the windows.

Thursday, September 17, 2015

The window guys came and installed all the windows except the bay window in the kitchen and the bathroom window in the upstairs bathroom. It looks like they ran out of time. Brandon said that it looks so good. He got home and it was dark but he could tell a huge difference.

Laundry room (inside)

IMAG0791[1]

Laundry room (outside)

IMAG0792[1]

Front Porch Window

IMAG0793[1]

The HVAC guy came back and fixed the ceiling as best as he could. We also asked him to check our other unit just to make sure everything was okay with it. He did note that our propane tank is empty. Awesome! Can you sense the sarcasm? That means it’s probably going to cost us around $600 to have it filled up before the winter.

Friday, September 18, 2015

Thursday, I was on Facebook and saw someone had posted a huge galvanized tub for sale for only $50. It was warped in one place but other than that it was fine. I instantly tagged Brandon and told him that I wanted it. So, he talked with the guy and was going to pick it up today.

Please excuse this horrible picture of me. That pose isn’t flattering. 🙂

IMAG6435[1]

Saturday, September 19, 2015

Brandon ripped up the old flooring in the laundry room and started to lay down Durock.

Before

IMAG6329[1]

After

IMAG6439[1]

He made an access hole in the floor so that he could get under the house and reroute the plumbing. I got a picture of him in the hole. 🙂

IMAG6440[1]

I snapped a picture outside of the roof. I forgot that I hadn’t really taken any more pictures of the roof since it still hasn’t been completed. But, this is as much as has gotten done with it. It is looking fantastic.

IMAG6442[1]

Sunday, September 20, 2015

It took a good amount of the day to finish up the plumbing. But, we finally got the cabinets and hardware installed!! And, I painted the trim around the three windows.

IMAG6447[1]

Monday, September 21, 2015

The window guys came back today and installed the bay window and the bathroom window and finished wrapping them in vinyl. Brandon started laying tile in the laundry room.

IMAG6450[1]

That’s it for now! We are making progress!!

Leave a Reply

