In a week’s time

Monday, August 31, 2015

I picked up the correct paint for the patio by the pool so Brandon painted it. However, one gallon of paint didn’t cut it. I needed to buy some more so that we could finish.

Tuesday, September 1, 2015

I was almost home when a bird flew out in front of me and there was no time to do anything. Feathers flew up my windshield which meant one thing, it was stuck in my grill. I immediately texted Brandon and told him that I had just hit a bird and that he needed to come get it out of my grill. Not, get in his truck and come to where I was at. I knew that the roofers were at the house working and I did NOT want to pull up and they all look at me because I had a bird in my grill. 🙂 When I pulled in the driveway, I took the long way so hopefully they wouldn’t notice it in my grill. I found Brandon and rolled down my window and asked, “Do I have a bird in my grill?” He shook his head yes. He asked where I had hit it and I told him and he told me that those birds were quail. So, he goes to get it out of the grill and it was a nice, big juicy quail. He said that that was the kind of quail that he wanted to raise. Well, I tried to help him by catching it. LOL

The roofers had been at the house all day prepping the shingle roof for the metal roof. When I pulled up, they had just put two rows of sheet metal and it made me so excited. It was starting to look like a farmhouse. They stayed until around 8:00pm or so and I could NOT believe how professional they were.

You mean, they brought their own cooler so they wouldn’t have to bang on our door and ask for drinks?

You mean, they brought their own generator so they wouldn’t have to use our power?

You mean, they brought their own equipment to get the job done?

You mean, they cleaned up before they left for the day?

WHAT?!! 

So far, WAY better than the pool guy. 🙂

Brandon showed me a trap sitting outside that was empty. It had been in our attic trying to catch a rat we knew kept getting in at night. So, I asked if we caught it and asked how he found it. I knew he had been checking it daily and then he stopped checking it. I had a gut feeling that we had caught it over the weekend and I was right. He said he found it due to the dead rat smell in our house. I went inside and headed for the stairs and boy, did it stink! The room right off of the attic space where we put the trap has no AC whatsoever and we keep the door closed to keep the heat in. In that room, it smelled like a HOT dead rat. Yuck! At least we caught him, right?

I bought more of the patio paint so that Brandon could finish painting the back patio. We were trying to get the pool area finished and put together because we were having company on Saturday.

Before

IMAG6131[1]

After

IMAG6212[1]

Before


IMAG6130[1]

After

IMAG6213[1]

Wednesday, September 2, 2015

We were able to order our kitchen appliances today. I had done a lot of research as far as Labor Day deals and the best I found was with Best Buy. They had 30% off appliances and if you bought the whole suite (which we needed), it was an additional 10% off AND if you purchased a certain $ worth you get a $300 Best Buy gift card!! So, I place the order, get a confirmation email, and then right behind that I get an email saying that the payment didn’t go through. I had plenty of money in the account in order to purchase the appliances so I got on the phone right away with my bank, BB&T, (local branch). They were NO help at all. So, I called the 1-800 customer service number and we found out that 1) I had a spending limit on my debit card that needed to be increased 2) it was flagged being possible fraudulent activity. Once I got that resolved, I had to contact Best Buy and let them know the whole deal and have them try my payment again. We got that whole situation fixed and I was a happy girl!

The roofers were at the house all day today. They finished one whole side of the house. I can’t wait to see the finished product.

IMAG6181[1]

Thursday, September 3, 2015

The roofers came and did some more work. They didn’t stay too long so not much really got done.

Brandon pulled out the old pool ladder and installed the new one.

Before

IMAG5944[1]

After

IMAG6211[1]

Friday, September 4, 2015

I took today off of work since my kids were out of school. I stayed home and did my normal “Saturday” routine. Did the laundry, washed the dishes, vacuumed the house, etc. While in the kitchen, I was cleaning the floors and discovered what looked like a snake or snake skin located in the wall where the dishwasher goes. I watched it for a while to make sure that it didn’t move. Let’s just say that I didn’t spend a whole lot of time in the kitchen on Friday. Can you spot it?

IMAG6188[1]

I did manage to get some of the playroom unpacked and situated.

IMAG6190[1]

My mom had saved all of my Fisher Price kitchen items from when I was a little girl. I LOVED playing with them! They definitely do NOT make toys this good and durable anymore.

IMAG6191[1]

IMAG6192[1]

IMAG6193[1]

IMAG6194[1]

IMAG6195[1]

At one point during the day, Deegan told me that Dawson had gotten a crayon and colored all over her doll house with it. When I went to go look, crayon was all over the sides of the house, on the floors, walls and ceilings on the inside of the house. She had just received this doll house from Brandon’s parents this past Christmas. Her Papa had spent many hours building and painting it. I tried Magic Eraser and was able to get it off the outside of the house and the floors, walls, and ceilings on the inside of the house. One room has wall paper in it and it ruined the wall paper. 😦 She did get in trouble for doing that. I was also able to move some boxes that were downstairs to upstairs to clear/clean up the hallway downstairs for visitors.

In the afternoon, I got a text from my friend, Kristi, telling me to answer the door in about 10 to 15 minutes. I told her that I would but wondered what the heck was going on. So, the doorbell rang about 15 minutes later and when I opened the door, there was a guy standing there with a bouquet of flowers. Kristi and her mom own a flower shop in Albany, GA (Way’s House of Flowers – they rock!). I thought that Kristi was sending me flowers. 🙂 BUT, when I read the card, they were from my hubby!! Apparently, he kept hearing me say (every now and then) that every girl loves to get flowers delivered to her. I really had no idea that he was going to do this, but it sure made this girl feel mighty special. My birthday was the next day. It was very thoughtful! PS If Kristi hadn’t called me and told me to answer the door, I wouldn’t have. Brandon knew that so that’s why he asked her to call and tell me that. 🙂 Good thinking on his part.

IMAG6196[1]

IMAG6197[1]

I got a confirmation email saying that the appliances were ready for pickup. I had told Brandon that he better take the trailer to work with him, because I had a gut feeling that they may be ready for pickup. Since the store is an hour and a half away from where we live, I really didn’t want to have to make a special visit to get those. So, when he got off of work, he went and picked them up. When he got home, now was the fun part. How in the heck do we get that monstrous refrigerator in the house? The back porch is way too small and not enough room to maneuver it around to get it through that door. The best way for us to get it in was through the front door. But, we have quite a few steps. We tried our hardest to lift it up the stairs but it was too heavy. We finally got some plywood and laid them going up the stairs and tipped the refrigerator over onto the plywood and together pushed/pulled it up the stairs then stood it up when we got it all the way up. Now, guess what? It was too wide to fit through our door in the package so we had to take it out of the package on the front porch. We get it through the door and inside the house. Then, I went and measured the door ways into the kitchen and there was no way it was fitting as it was. So, Brandon had to take ALL the doors/drawers off of the fridge, THEN it fit through the door! Wow, that took so much time to do. We were pooped at that point! LOL But, we still had the rest of the appliances to get into the house. We were able to get the rest of them in the house with no problem.

Before

IMAG6198[1]

After

IMAG6206[1]

Before

IMAG6199[1]

After

IMAG6207[1]

Before

IMAG6200[1]

After

IMAG6237[1]

Before

IMAG6201[1]

After

IMAG6208[1]

Saturday, September 5, 2015

Happy Birthday to me! Today is my birthday and we were having company over. Deegan started my day by telling me that he forgot to tell me what Dawson had done the night before. Apparently, she had a crayon and she colored all over her Little Tykes car. Seriously, where does she keep hiding these crayons? AND….did she not learn her lesson when she did that to the doll house?

IMAG6219[1]

The first thing I did when I woke up was transfer everything from the old fridge into the new fridge. The main reason I picked the fridge I did was because it had a drawer that I could put drinks in. Our household goes through lots of drinks and this would help cut down on opening the entire fridge just to get a drink.

IMAG6209[1]

IMAG6205[1]

IMAG6210[1]

When Brandon got up, he put our new patio table on the patio with the chairs and it looked so good.

His parents, my parents, and my friends came over around 3. We showed them all the new things we had done to the house. The kids swam. Kristi and her mom got me the coolest presents. I got a metal coke sign, Morton’s salt sign, Procter and Gamble sign, an old coke crate, and some glass hurricanes. I am quite cheap to have to buy for. I like used, old things!

IMAG6214[1]

IMAG6227[1]

IMAG6228[1]

IMAG6229[1]

IMAG6230[1]

We grilled out and had some hamburgers and hot dogs. Kenny and Kristi brought a Dairy Queen ice cream cake. MY FAVORITE!!

IMAG6215[1]

I had such a good time with all of my family and friends on my birthday. I had been told by many people to not work today and just enjoy my birthday. I have to say I took that advice. Although, I was dying inside and was thinking about everything that needed to get done.

That night, a guy from Gainesville, GA was coming to our house to buy Brandon’s 1994 Honda Civic hatchback that had been sitting for years. He used to “dodge cones” in it for fun. It was a nice race car, but he just doesn’t have the time to enjoy it anymore. Plus, he really needs/wants a new lawnmower. The guy was supposed to get there about 9:00 PM but hadn’t showed up yet. So, I walked outside to ask Brandon where he was at. Brandon gave him the wrong address not once, but twice. He finally showed up 30 minutes later to the correct address. But, it was really late and dark so he got a hotel room for the night and was coming back in the morning to test drive.

Sunday, September 6, 2015

The guy showed up around 8 AM, test drove it and bought it. Yippie! Now that we had the money in hand, we could go buy Brandon’s lawnmower. So, we headed to Albany, GA (about an hour away, North). We stopped at Home Depot first to look at tile. We are still undecided about what tile we want to put in the laundry room. While we were there, we looked at exterior doors. We ended up buying a new front door, back door, door locks and two old timey-looking screen doors. Luckily, Home Depot matched a coupon that I had received from Lowe’s for moving – 10% off an entire purchase. That saved us around $100. Then, we cross the street and go to Lowe’s. Brandon knew exactly which lawnmower he was going to buy. They were having a sale on the lawnmower plus you would get a $100 rebate plus I had the 10% off an entire purchase coupon. So, we load up the lawnmower and were on our way.

IMAG6216[1]

When we got home, Brandon unloaded the lawnmower and tried to start it. He could not get it to start. We tried for about an hour and it wouldn’t start. At this point, he was really frustrated and I was mad at myself for not having them start it at Lowe’s to make sure that it worked. The Albany location only had one of that kind of lawnmower but Thomasville (about an hour away, South) had about six in stock. So, he called Lowe’s to make sure that we could return it without any problems.

Back on the road again! When we were on our way, Brandon called Thomasville to let them know that we were on the way and what we needed. When we got there, Brandon went to go return it while I had some paint mixed. Then, he calls me and tells me to come to the desk. Apparently, when they credited back our Lowe’s card then tried to charge it again, it was denied. They called customer service and our card was flagged for fraudulent activity. Yup, it happened again! UGH! So, I had to call customer service and get that straightened out.

On our way home, Brandon was telling me that the Lowe’s employees asked him where the brush guard was that was supposed to be on the front of it and he told him that it didn’t have one. They also told him that the battery that was in it was not the original battery. Apparently, someone had returned it to Albany and Albany Lowe’s did not verify that it worked or had everything on it. We made sure this time that it worked before we loaded it up again.

Monday, September 7, 2015

As soon as Brandon woke up, he got on his new toy and started mowing away. I couldn’t help but snap a picture of him on it. He looked so happy! Plus, he didn’t let me get a picture of it before he started using it, so….

IMAG6218[1]

I spent most of the day just relaxing with the kids by the pool. When Brandon was done mowing, together we burned some of the trees and vines that had been laying in the front yard. We cleaned the yard up real nice.

Tuesday, September 8, 2015

Brandon took out the back door and installed the new back door and locks.

Before (I have not taken an After for this shot)

IMAG6222[1]

IMAG6223[1]

During the process

IMAG6226[1]

After

IMAG6233[1]

We still have trim to put back on, but we ran out of time.

My parents had an old braided runner rug that they were trying to sneak into our booth that we have in Tifton, GA at Southern Pickers. I told them that they could not sell it, that I had to have it for my farmhouse. When I got home, I found the perfect spot for it. You tell me. Doesn’t it look awesome there?

IMAG6225[1]

Wednesday, September 9, 2015

The roofers have the main part of the house complete with the new roof. I think I heard them say that they will have it finished by Thursday. The HVAC guy is coming Friday to start installing that in the upstairs of the house. That’s it for now folks!

Sorry about having to switch sites for my blog. I hate that my original three posts aren’t here as well. WordPress is so much better! I love it!

Leave a Reply

